Skip to content

VISION

« The goal of politics is to make possible those things that are necessary. »

These days, we often hear it said that politics is the art of the possible. Reading between the lines, that equates to: since it is hard to be in control of things, because the globalization of the economy is something that is simply falling on us from above, we have to be satisfied with just being ready for come what may.

Personally, I’m convinced that – quite the contrary – politics is the art of making possible those things that are necessary. In other words, it’s our ability to identify what’s going to become essential for the human race, and to turn it to our advantage, in both a symbolic and a practical sense, in order to change the tide of circumstances, take practical action, and remold things.

In the speech I gave to the Council of State as its president on May 31, 2018, I said that. “It’s up to us to change things. James Fazy said that evolving from a patrician regime into a democratic system requires one to endeavor to built a collective consciousness – a collective consciousness born from compromise, and devised with patience. People don’t want their government to simply be a reproduction of the divisions that exist in society. Far from it, we are appointed to overcome them.

“We are all conscious of the stakes. Our canton has tested this draft agreement with Operation Papyrus. Papyrus was a scheme limited in time and bound by strict parameters, for the regularization of the status of people with no work permit, underpinned by input from trade unions and employers. This act of social justice owes much to an opening of minds and the abandoning of postures of principle. In the underlying substance, one can see a new perception of the common good; in the actual form, one has to arrive at a process that overcomes rifts and thereby brings precious teachings.”

« I defend the idea that nothing is viable without bonds and creativity seeded by innovation. »

In terms of both substance and form, I propone a vision of the economy capable of recognizing that growth is not an end in itself, it’s a means of giving people the chance to build a personal future and be a committed member of the community.

I propone the idea that nothing is viable without bonds and creativity seeded by innovation, either in the possibility of re-training oneself, not only from a technical viewpoint but also – and above all – at the human level, by aiming for long-term solutions, so as to fulfill the economic needs and social challenges of our canton, such as the employment prospects of young people and senior citizens.

I propound the principles of durability, openness and diversity, which constitute the DNA of Geneva’s economy, in a context of economic liberty both written into the constitution and increasingly enacted within a regulatory framework, which has to be rendered flexible for businesses and for employment.

I support the concept of social partnership as one of the best antidotes to the increasing precarity of employment, in a context in which the digitization of society is initially perceived as a danger, whereas it should be seen as an opportunity and as a means of ensuring that no-one gets left by the wayside.
In short, in a world that has changed simultaneously in tone, speed and scale, I believe more than ever in the strength of political engagement and action for the affirmation of our democratic values, and their transcription into the economy of the future, with strength of heart and with conviction.


Pierre Maudet,
Conseiller d'Etat

Scroll To Top

VISION

« La politique, c’est l’art de rendre possible ce qui est nécessaire. »

Par les temps qui courent, on entend souvent que la politique, c’est l’art du possible. Sous-entendu : comme il est très difficile d’avoir prise sur le cours des choses, puisque la mondialisation de l’économie nous tombe dessus comme une enclume sur un moustique, contentons-nous d’apprêter les restes et advienne que pourra.

Je suis pour ma part convaincu, au contraire, que la politique, c’est l’art de rendre possible ce qui est nécessaire. Autrement dit, c’est la capacité de discerner ce qui va se révéler essentiel pour l’être humain et d’en faire une force, symbolique et pratique, pour changer le cours des circonstances, pour agir concrètement, pour refonder le pacte.

Dans le discours de législature du Conseil d’Etat, que j’ai prononcé en qualité de président le 31 mai 2018, il était dit : « A nous de rétablir le pacte. James Fazy, professait que passer d'un régime patricien à un régime démocratique exige de s'atteler à construire une conscience collective. La conscience collective naît du compromis, patiemment élaboré. Le peuple n'attend pas de son gouvernement qu'il reproduise les divergences qui fissurent la société. Il nous désigne au contraire pour les dépasser.

Nous sommes toutes et tous conscients de l'enjeu. Ce modèle de pacte, notre canton l'a testé avec Papyrus. Limité dans le temps et assorti de cautèles strictes, ce programme de régularisation de travailleurs et de travailleuses sans papiers a bénéficié de l'intelligence des syndicats et de la clairvoyance des employeurs. Cet acte de justice sociale doit à l'ouverture des frontières mentales et à l'abandon des postures de principe. Pour le fond, il faut voir là la genèse d'une nouvelle grammaire du Bien commun; pour la forme, il faut y voir aussi, et surtout, une méthodologie qui dépasse les clivages et délivre à ce titre de précieux enseignements. »

« Je défends l’idée que rien n’est viable sans liens et créativité portés par l'innovation »

A la forme et sur le fond, je défends une vision de l’économie capable de soutenir que la croissance n’est pas une fin en soi mais un moyen d’offrir à chacune et à chacun une perspective de se dessiner un avenir personnel et d'être un acteur engagé au sein de la collectivité.

Je défends l’idée que rien n’est viable sans liens et créativité portés par l'innovation, soit sans la capacité de se renouveler non seulement au niveau technique mais aussi et surtout au niveau humain, en visant des solutions à long terme, afin de répondre aux exigences économiques et aux défis sociaux de notre canton, tels que l'employabilité des jeunes et des seniors.

Je défends les principes de durabilité, d’ouverture et de diversité qui constituent l’ADN de l’économie genevoise, dans un contexte de liberté économique consacré par la Constitution mais relativisé de plus en plus par un carcan réglementaire, qu'il faut assouplir pour les entrepreneurs et pour l'emploi.

Je défends la notion de partenariat social, comme l'un des meilleurs antidotes à la précarisation du travail, dans une perspective où la numérisation de la société est d’abord perçue comme un risque, alors qu'elle devrait être envisagée comme une opportunité, et un moyen de ne laisser personne sur le bord de la route.

Bref, dans un monde qui a simultanément changé de ton, de vitesse et d’échelle, je crois plus que jamais en la force de l'engagement et de l'action politique pour affirmer nos valeurs démocratiques et les transcrire dans l’économie de demain, avec cœur et avec conviction.


Pierre Maudet,
Conseiller d'Etat